Yer a Wizard, Harry

Azkaban. Diagon Alley. Gryffindor. Wingardium Levi-O-sa (not Levio-SAH!). And an easy one, if you haven’t caught on yet: Hogwarts.

If you recognized these as references to the magical wizarding world of Harry Potter, you’re in good company. As of last April the brand had an estimated worth of $25 billion, so you can imagine just how thoroughly the HP universe has permeated our modern society.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was released in the United States exactly one month before I turned eight years old and it completely changed the landscape of juvenile literature.  As someone who grew up with the characters and read the books immediately as they were published, I will always have a soft spot for anything related to Harry Potter. I can’t wait to read the novels with my own child one day so I can watch their eyes light up as they go along with Harry, Ron, and Hermione on their various adventures.

I remember what it felt like to be instantly transported to a world where anything was possible. Back when I was reading the first book, I think I was most intrigued by the magical candy, owls, and the possibility of finding out you had an exciting, alternate life awaiting you. Today I just want a time-turner so I can have more hours in the day (side note: don’t grow up, it’s a trap).

As the Teen Services Librarian, it makes my heart so happy to have kids ask me where they can find the HP books in the library. It’s always the first series I ask about when giving recommendations to kids who say they like fantasy. Spending an entire summer day reading a brand-new Harry Potter book is an experience that changed my life as a reader, so I love to watch other children and teens discover that indulgence as well.

Now that it’s abundantly clear that I am (and will always be) a huge Harry Potter nerd, you probably won’t be surprised to hear that we’re having a huge Harry Potter themed event this summer! On June 27th, Denton Public Library will be hosting our own version of a Triwizard Tournament from 6:30-8:30 p.m. at the North Branch for young people ages 11-17. There will be a costume contest, trivia, food, games, crafts, and tons of other Potter-themed activities. Your Harry Potter-loving kids and teens will not want to miss it because, hello, where else will they get to be surrounded by other people who think their acceptance letters from Hogwarts were lost in the mail?! Hope to see you there (preferably dressed in costume)!

HP

And to end this post, here’s a fun little Buzzfeed quiz to see if your age can be guessed based on your taste in books. My result was only four years off from my real age (and my answer for question number one will be quite obvious…). Leave your result in the comments section!

Kasey
Teen Services Librarian
North Branch Library

Leave a Reply

