When It’s Summer

FlowerI remember when I was a kid in school, one of the first things that would signal the end of the school year was the smell of cut grass drifting in through the open windows.  I still love that smell (though I feel bad for those who are allergic).  That smell made me want to run outside and read.  I did enjoy playing outside, although I also loved just sitting outside and reading, while the sounds and smells of summer made their ways around me.

lounge chairAt home, I would drag my parents’ old brown fold- out lounge chair (the ones that you had to click into place and you would have to inevitably adjust, like, 5 times before you got it in the right position while being careful not to pinch your finger) out of our shed and plop down on it with a stack of books.  I would choose one and spend some time just reading in the sun until I got too hot.  Then I would move to our front porch or under the old apple tree (Yes, we really did have an old apple tree.  Sounds idyllic, but it was quite old and somewhat dangerous.  It got cut down at some point.)

I would also do this in college and up until the time I had kids (minus my dad’s chair).  Now I rarely have time to lie in the sun and read.  Though sometimes I do still try.  Sometimes I accomplish this task.  Sometimes for longer than five minutes.  Sometimes.

Anyway, here are some of my favorite books that I read during various summers.  Every one of these titles take me back to a specific summer.  Anyone else have books that reminds you of a specific time?

Summer Sisters   A Walk in the Woods   The Ruins   The Secret Garden   The Geography of You and Me   Uganda Be Kidding Me   Into the Wild   Tess

Here are some titles I am looking forward to reading this summer and making memories with!  (Maybe with an old chair and an apple tree…but more likely with two kids, the dogs and a hose, not necessarily in that order. 🙂 )

Ministry   Button   Theft   Little Sister   The Sisters Chase   Slice   Ginny   Beautiful   Sycamore   Long Haul   American   Lying   Almost Sisters

Also, some of my favorite summer soundtracks (for when you’re not reading):

Plans   Toad   Owl   Crow   WPA   Fast   Love   Group Shadow

 

 

 

 

Dawn Terrizzi
Emily Fowler Central Library

Leave a Reply

