She Died in Her Boots

One of the things I enjoy most about working in the Special Collections department of our library is helping customers locate a birth or marriage announcement, an obituary, or a historical news article. I have to admit though, quite often when you are looking for something specific it is hard to stay on task.  Those old papers are a fascinating snapshot in time and space, providing a unique glimpse of the day to day life in a community. As the headlines scroll across the screen, you often stumble upon something amazing.  Here is one of those headlines that captured my eye and sparked my imagination.

Died with her boots on

I think that this short notice of death reads like an outline for a character from a novel. In fact, if I ever do write a novel Ms. McCormick might become my inspiration. Many times an obituary provides answers to questions about people’s lives, this one only makes me want to find out more about Rosanna McCormick.

It must have intrigued others as well. The article was picked up in syndication and ran in papers across the States. This version was published on Tuesday, March, 26 1889 in the Macon Telegraph (GA).  I found it through one of our online resources American’s Genealogy Bank (AGB). If you are doing family history research AGB is a great resource to use. Not only does it have searchable historical newspapers (1690-1922) from across the United States it also provides access to America’s Obituaries, full text obituaries for individuals who have died from 1977 to the present day. If you have a Denton Library card you can log into AGB remotely or it is available on any computer at our library branches.

Laura
Special Collections Librarian
Emily Fowler Central Library

3 thoughts on “She Died in Her Boots

  1. I love looking at old obituaries. As a writer, I enjoy the “colorful” descriptions of people, their lives and deaths, unfettered by the rules and styles that newspapers of today follow. Thanks for the reminder that in my creation of characters for the mystery I am writing, I may find some inspiration from the old newspaper files at the library. I read and enjoy each blog you write.

Leave a Reply

