Favorite Halloween Memories

Halloween is one of my favorite times of the year.  I remember dressing up as a child and going trick-or-treating in my neighborhood with my brothers.  Now, my parents did not believe in spending money on costumes.  We usually had to DIY something, and this was back before DIY was cool.  My favorite go-to costumes were “Gypsy” or “Hobo.”  Both costumes were easy to make by raiding my parents closet.  Yes, I could find plenty of scarves, beaded necklaces, bracelets, and make-up for my gypsy-look from my mother.  And for the “Hobo,” there was this awesome old trench coat of my father’s that was wrinkled, worn and torn and, well, perfect.  Add a handkerchief bundle tied to a stick and I was ready to go.  I think I alternated between these two costumes a couple of years in a row.  There was one year when we were able to convince my mom to buy us amazing Halloween masks.  Imagine my joy in dressing in a black dress, black hat, and super ugly green witch mask.  I think I cackled all night long.

As an adult, I miss going trick-or-treating but I still love to dress up. Being a children’s librarian gives me many opportunities to dress up and I’m always looking for new costume ideas.  I think my new go-to look is “Pirate” with a vest, eye patch and stuffed parrot.

MonsterCoverFINAL

Imagine my happiness when I saw the book Monster Needs a Costume by Paul Czajak.  In this picture book, Monster needs a costume for Halloween and he keeps changing his mind about which costume is perfect.  Cowboy, dancer, ninja?  Which one will he choose?  You will have to read the book to find out.  And then there is Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Halloween: A Safety Guide for Scaredies by Melanie Watt, a tongue-and-cheek take on Halloween preparations with one of my favorite book characters Scaredy Squirrel.  You can find Monster Needs a Costume, Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Halloween, and many more Halloween picture books at the Denton Public Library.  Come by the library and check out a Halloween-themed book.  And be sure to show off those costumes at Spooky StoryTime or any of the library’s Halloween programs.   And have a happy and safe Halloween!

Stacey
Youth Service Librarian
Emily Fowler Central Library

Leave a Reply

