Reading With My Ears

I always enjoyed reading a book at my leisure, listening to the characters in my head with imagined voices. But as my time became more valuable and scarce I turned to audio books. I found that an experienced narrator, with their vocal intonations, will draw you into the magic of the story.  Listening to an audio book allows me the convenience of doing boring household chores, while getting lost in an adventure that is in another place and time.

DevilcoverI do have favor narrators like Jim Daley narrating the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowlings.  But my all time favorite narrators are Scott Brick and Katherine Kellgren.  Anything Scott Brick narrates is “pure gold.”  My first exposure to Scott’s narration was The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson.  I still get goosebumps thinking about the story.  But Scott has narrated many books by many authors from David Baldacci to Sun Tzu’s Art of War (on Hoopla). He has a few prestigious awards like Audies and Grammys.

Audie Award winning Katherine Kellgren narrates the Bloody Jack series by L. A. Meyer. I listen to the first Bloody Jack book and from then on had to listen to all the other books in the series.  Katherine gives the story suchbloodyjackcover life that you feel you are part of the story, standing side by side with Jacky/Mary as she moves from one adventure to another. Katherine doesn’t limit herself to just youth books, she also narrates adult books. She is nominated for this year’s Audie Awards for her narration of Erika Johansen’s The Queen of the Tearling and others titles. I am waiting for the library to get this book in audio book format so I can listen to Katherine and get lost in this story.

So when you search the library’s catalog, select author and in the search box type: Brick, Scott or Kellgren, Katherine.  See what the library has in its holdings for either narrator, then check out one of the audio books.  You will be glad you did.

Carmen
North Branch Library

Leave a Reply

