April Fools’ Day Tips!

So, the day this blog entry goes up is April 1st or also known as April Fools’ Day. I don’t believe I have ever attempted a prank on that date. I say that despite having a great sense of humor and having pulled some mischievous pranks in my youth. I’m thinking right now of a Mardi gras prank involving a supervisor when I worked in Fort Worth that I will not repeat in public until I look up the statutes of limitations on certain things. But, that was not on April 1st. Joss Whedon once wrote on a Buffy the Vampire Slayer episode that vampires and other undead stay home on Halloween as they consider it too pedestrian. That sums up my feelings about pranks on April Fools’ Day.

However, if you are going to do some prank on this day or the next, check out some of the links in this article and take some tips from this jokester to make sure everyone comes home safe and sound.

Know your Audience

Don’t pull a Louis C.K. style joke on someone more accustomed to Adam Sandler style humor. Something that starts out funny can quickly go to horrifying if you don’t know your audience.

Don’t make it typical

Don’t be obvious. Think about some movies that really surprised you. I can think of one really good example that I can sum up in two words. Keyser Soze.

Usual Suspects

 

That film showed a deft hand at taking what the audience thought it knew at the end and turning it upside down. Show the same originality if you decide to do anything on April Fools’ Day.

At the end, everyone should be laughing

My all time favorite April Fools’ prank I saw was on the show MASH.

mash_season5

The prank was great on many levels including the end when everyone was laughing together. A true jokester wants himself, his audience, and the recipient of the prank to be laughing at the end. Otherwise, what’s the point?

That’s all I have, stay safe, but have fun. And remember to check the statutes of limitations first.

Jess Edward Turner
South Branch Library

Leave a Reply

