Whovians Unite!

Find out more about Doctor Who. The Library has lots!

Find out more about Doctor Who.

Since we are talking about Doctor Who… I will admit it, I am a Whovian.  (It is a real word; you can find it in the Oxford English Dictionary) I have been a fan of the Series since I was a child. The first Doctor Who I remember watching was Tom Baker, the Doctor with the really long scarf.  Now this was in the late 70’s early 80’s. The show’s special effects were cheesy, but that was ok because other than that it was smart, humorous, full of adventure and just downright fun to watch. But what I remember most about that Doctor Who was it was a show that my mother and I watched together, and shared the experience. Even though I was on the cusp of becoming a surly teenager it was something we enjoyed doing together.

Now some 30 odd years later I am watching the new Doctor Who with my 9 year old son. The series has been through some rocky times. (If you want to learn more the library has histories, guides and more!) It is still a little cheesy but the special effects are much better, it is still smart, humorous and downright fun to watch, and we love it.  And I hope sometime in the far distant future, he will look back with fond memories of watching the show with me.

The first full episode featuring the new Doctor, played by Peter Capaldi, will premier tonight  at 7 p.m. on BBC America. If you are not already a fan, this would be the perfect opportunity to start watching!

– Laura Douglas
Librarian at Emily Fowler Central Library

Leave a Reply

