Why I Love Joss Whedon

I love Joss Whedon.  Some of you are asking who he is.  That’s understandable.  For the simple answer, here is a link to his Internet Movie Database page.  In my mind, he is the man, no, genius who brought me Buffy, Angel, Firefly, and made The Avengers possible.

It all started fjacketor me with the Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  There is a movie and it’s amazing!  It’s supposed to be a funny gory teen comedy / drama, but the critics hated it.  The TV show is much darker.  It still has it’s moments of hilarity and it is filled with teen angst and drama, but it’s really different from that first movie.  Buffy is a girl who was moved to Sunnydale because she burned down her school gym in the town they lived in before.  It turns out, Buffy is the chosen one and is the one and only vampire slayer on the planet.  She has two loyal friends, Willow and Xander, and  some enemies, mainly Cordelia and the vampires, and she relies heavily on the school librarian, Giles, who is also her Watcher.  It is an amazing series and when it was cancelled, viewers were very sad.  Joss decided to make a graphic novel series chronicling what happens next.  This is one reason why I love him.  He doesn’t let the story end just because some higher-up told him it was over.  It is over when Joss is finished telling the story.

 

 

jacket

Angel came next.  This TV series started in the middle of Buffy and it is a spin-off.  Angel, Buffy’s true love, moves to Los Angeles.  It is a very long story, but it turns out Buffy and Angel just can’t be together.  Angel becomes a private detective.  He brings along Wesley, another Watcher, and somehow Cordelia is in the show as well.  It is a decent spin-off with a satisfying ending.  It also has a series of graphic novels that go with it.

During this time, Jjacketoss tried to make a western show about pirates that was set in space.  Firefly is a fantastic show about a space captain who takes on a crew of misfits and they go around helping people and trying to make money.  We destroyed Earth and humans had to terraform other planets so we can live.   There is a war as not all the planets want to be ruled by one government.  Mal, the Captain, fought for the Independents, who lost.  He tries to stay away from the government as much as possible as he does not agree with anything they do.  This show was canceled in the middle of the first season.  Fans were livid.  Because of the fans and Joss, they made the movie Serenity,     which is the story of what happens next to the crew.  It is my all time favorite show, right next to Doctor Who.  The storytelling is wonderful and he really brings this world to life.  He also has graphic novels that continue the story, for those interested.

Next was Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog staring Neil Patrick Harris.  NPH is amazing in this.  It’s a vlog about a man who loves a girl and just wants to be a supervillain.  He just can’t seem to get past Captain Hammer, the superhero.  What’s a poor supervillain to do?  It is funny, smart, and really entertainingjacket

Joss also did a series called Dollhouse.  People sign an agreement and lose all memories, judgement, and any part of their own will.  That makes it easy for them to implanted with different personalities.  Want to go into the jungle with an expert?  Hire one of them.  Need someone to be a hostage negotiator, but don’t want to go to the police?  Here is an expert.  For a huge amount of money, you can have any personality you want to accompany you anywhere and do pretty much anything you need.  This show was cancelled after two seasons.  It was thought provoking and there is a mystery which is never really solved.  I enjoyed it, but it’s not one of his best.

jacketIn 2012, Joss Whedon did something amazing.  He did a movie called Cabin in the Woods.  At first, I was apprehensive about this film.  I don’t generally like scarey films and this one looked like the typical teen slasher film.  Then I found out it was Joss Whedon.  I immediately put it on hold from the library.  It is old school Joss.  Funny, smart, dark, and weird.  I love d it.  This movie was another reason I love him.  He knows who his fans are and how to tell and story they will love.

Then there was The Avengers.  I’m sure you have all seen it.  When I heard they were going to do The Avengers I was very excited and then I remembered all the other horrible movies people have made about superheros and I was sad.  I just knew they were going to ruin this one.  Joss is the reason the movie felt as amazing as it did.  He knows comedy, he knows production, he knows his audience, and he knows how to make people love what he does.  He has a vision and he knows how to make it into reality.  jacket

Joss Whedon has also done Much Ado About Nothing, which he filmed at his house.  It is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays, although the premise is a bit ridiculous.  But it works.

Anything Joss comes out with, I will watch.  Anything he publishes, I will read.  I am a Joss Whedon superfan and I’m not afraid to let my geekiness shine through.  All of these things are at the library, except for the Buffy movie, which I will ask to have ordered soon.

 
WyLaina Polk is the Manager of the Emily Fowler Central Library and is a loyal Browncoat.

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Joss Whedon

  1. Firefly was really a missed opportunity for television. It had the legs to become something really special (not that the existing content is anything but great). I usually avoid horror films as well but saw Cabin in the Woods because of Whedon’s credit and was glad I did. His run with the Astonishing X-Men didn’t dissapoint either. I’m based in Dallas so I’ll have to make it to the Denton Library.

Leave a Reply

