Denton Writes 2012 First Place Winner Youth Poetry; Victoria Langham

 

I Am

by Victoria Langham

 

I am and will always be me.

The crazy, silly, weird thing,

That no one wants to be; except me.

Yes, that is how I will always be.

 

I can jump, I can play, and I can sing, too,

But, I can never be like you.

For, as you can see

I am and will always be me.

 

I am strong, I am confident, and I am free,

Like a bird or a honey bee.

Because it is shown very clearly

I am and will always be me.

 

I like to read, I like to draw, and I like to sew, too.

I can do everything that you can do.

But, I will never be like you

For, I am and will always be me.

 

You say I am weird after we first met,

But, you have not seen the real me yet,

I am nice when you get to know me,

For, I am and will always be me.

Leave a Reply

