Denton Writes 2012 Adult Poetry Winner; Christina Smith

Hurry Up/Slow Down (A Mother’s Paradox)

by Christina Smith

 

Grow up!

I don’t want you to

stay little forever,

so helpless and small.

You need me so much now

I’m losing sleep. But

you getting bigger means

more independence, more freedom,

my old life back.

I don’t need

these countless hours with this tiny creature.

Let me instead enjoy

life on fast-forward,

though it seems like I am watching

every minute that goes by.

I want to see you

growing and changing,

becoming a person all your own. Now,

you are

my little one.

 

My little one,

you are

becoming a person all your own now –

growing and changing.

I want to see you

every minute that goes by,

thought it seems like I am watching

life on fast-forward.

Let me instead enjoy

these countless hours with this tiny creature.

I don’t need

my old life back.

More independence, more freedom –

you getting bigger means

I’m losing sleep. But

you need me so much now,

so helpless and small…

Stay little forever.

I don’t want you to

grow up.                                                                                 

Leave a Reply

