Miss Emily’s JukeJoint, 9.4.10 New CDs and Gil Scott-Heron

Greetings, y’all-

    Been a while-my apologies.  Here are some new music CD titles at the Fowler Library:

Gil Scott-Heron, “I’m New Here

Jelly Roll Morton, “Library of Congress Recordings

Clem Snide, “The Meat of Life

Miles Davis, “My Funny Valentine

Kit Downes Trio,  “Golden

The Books, “The Way Out

Kutt Calhoun, “Raw and un Kutt

Kevin Hart, “Seriously Funny

Jesca Hoop, “Hunting My Dress

There’s alot to write about in this list (I *love* the Miles Davis album and Jelly Roll Morton? Mmmmm) but I’m gonna just hang with Gil  in the blog post…

Gil Scott-Heron  is a socially-conscious songwriter and multi-instrumentalist from New York who is most known for the song, “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised”. He is an early influence on rap and hip hop artists. The New Yorker recently ran a profile of him in the August 9th, 2010 issue:

Gil Scott-Heron "I'm New Here" 2010

Leave a Reply

