Twilight Read-Alikes Vol. 4: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter by Laurell K. Hamilton

Anita Blake, a dark-haired petite vampire executioner and necromancer, has a kick-butt type of attitude and knows her stuff about preternatural beings.  Two years prior to this series starting, vampires have “come out of the coffin,” so to speak, and are legal citizens of the United States.  Anita kills vampires that break the law, but has to have a court order to do so.  She works with the police to solve preternatural crimes (when she is not raising zombies), and innocent vampires are being killed.  Nikolaos, The Master of the City, is a vampire who looks 10 years old, but is really at least a thousand. Jean Claude is the second-strongest vampire, and it is with some arm- wrangling that he and Nikolaos enlist Anita’s help to solve the vampire killer case. 

 Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter is a blend of horror, romance and mystery/cop stories, and is for older teens and adults since it contains some graphic/explicit scenes.   The stories are fun, entertaining, moderately fast paced, and it is fun to see the romantic tension between Jean Claude and Anita.

Read all nine volumes of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter:

 1)    Guilty Pleasures

2)    The Laughing Corpse

3)    Circus of the Damned

4)    The Lunatic Café

5)    Bloody Bones

6)    The Killing Dance

7)    Burnt Offerings

8)    Blue Moon

9)    Obsidian Butterfly

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Graphic Novels by Laurel K. Hamilton:

The graphic novels are similar to the novels with the same name, and the story unfolds just as it does in the regular novel.  As someone who is fairly new to graphic novels, the format may be a little confusing, because more is said in the visual nuances than in the words, but it is still entertaining to read.

Read the first three volumes of the Anita Blake graphic novels:

1)    Guilty Pleasures Volume 1

2)    Guilty Pleasures Volume 2

3)    First Death

Heather Shaw, UNT Practicum Student

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Twilight Read-Alikes Vol. 4: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter by Laurell K. Hamilton

  1. Well, I think it’s important to point out that these books are not written for Twilight-aged fans! Once you get to about book 6, there’s sex. From there on it becomes more and more graphic, eventually evolving into paranormal erotica.

    • Thanks for your comment! The text of the review actually does point that out —

      Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter is a blend of horror, romance and mystery/cop stories, and is for older teens and adults since it contains some graphic/explicit scenes.

      Also, many adults are also fans of Twilight, so these would be appropriate read-alikes for them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s