Were you at the Fry Street Fair in 1981-86?

The Special Collections Department at the Emily Fowler Library is working on a book about the Fry Street area.  It currently contains over 250 photos taken by Alec Williams of the Fry Street area.  The tentative title is Fry Street a photographic memoir and will be published by a self-publishing website called Blurb.com ( hopefully in the next 2-3 months).  The majority of the photos were taken during the Fry Street Fair years of 1981-1986.  The rest of the photos are from the years of 1977-86 and are of businesses, people, local bands, and a 1983 Halloween party.  If  you were at the Fry Street Fair during this time period and have something to say about it, or would like to identify some of the photos, please contact Leslie.Couture@cityofdenton.com.  I will be adding more photos to my Flickr account.

Fry Street Fair 1982

Halloween party on Fry, 1983

1981 Fry Street Fair
2 thoughts on “Were you at the Fry Street Fair in 1981-86?

  1. I lived on Fry Street from 1981 to 1986, and also in 1977. I am very interested in the Fry Street a photographic memoir, but cannot find it on Blurb.com
    I can identify the first photograph on this list. That’s “Bhagwan”, or Bill Craddock, resident of White Hawk and good friend of mine. Don’t know the woman. He still lives out there with wife Jude.
    I might be in some of these photographs myself, who knows!
    I might be in some of these photographs myself, who knows! Please let me know how I can find the collection and contribute to identifying what is in them.

Leave a Reply

