What I Have on Hold (or I Read Like a Kid)

In my defense, I’m a very busy person. I’m in grad school full time plus work, so sometimes I just want to read something for fun, something that won’t take me several days to get through it. I also have to say before I continue that I’m someone who has to read the book before I can see the movie, and although I’m waiting very patiently for this last book, I really want to see the movie.

The Last OlympianI’m waiting for The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan, book five in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Yes it’s a teen book, but if you’re an adult that hasn’t read this series, READ IT! It’s good. I promise. If you have read it, then you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t read it yet, but you’re going to, here’s your Spoiler Alert!

If you’re still reading, and you haven’t read the series, don’t say I didn’t warn you. So Perseus “Percy” Jackson finds out that he’s actually half-Olympian, and that his real father is Poseidon, so he ends up developing these super awesome water powers. Of course, he wasn’t supposed to be born, so there are a lot of monsters that want to kill him (and some Olympian gods). He meets a lot of other half-bloods and mythical creatures – centaurs, satyrs, etc. – and everything is hunky-dory, except for the attempted murders of course, until he discovers that the Titan lord Kronos is trying to come back. In the grand scheme of things, the Olympian gods are nowhere near as bad as the Titans. Kronos did eat his children, after all. I don’t know how it will end (I have a sneaking suspicion, but that’s because I read a lot and I recognize foreshadowing), so I’m avoiding the synopsis for the last book.

I will mention that I studied Latin way back when in high school, and we had to learn a lot about the culture and mythology. For being a modern fantasy, I’m happy with what Riordan has done with the gods and mythical creatures, especially since the gods aren’t in the spotlight. Now go read this series!

– Heather Botelho, South Branch Library

Leave a Reply

