Patience, Grasshopper (or What I Have on Hold)

You would think that since I work at the library, I would know what new books are coming and be one of the first to have them on hold. The truth is, I’m right there with everyone else, fiftieth in line, waiting for the next bestseller. So there are three books I’m waiting rather anxiously for, and if you’ve already read them, shhh! Don’t tell me what happens!

I had no clue that Jasper Fforde was coming out with a new book until I saw Shades of Grey in a newsletter. Imagine if you could only see one color, and that color indicated your social status. There’s a revolution in the works, though, that will return color to all. Fforde’s previous books have featured characters from nursery rhymes (The Big Over Easy:  A Nursery Crime) and characters from literature in a world where books literally come to life (Thursday Next in Lost in a Good Book). From what I’ve read, Shades of Grey isn’t nearly as lighthearted as his previous books, but I’m sure that despite the dark subject matter, Fforde’s wit will shine through.

I’m also waiting for Bed of Roses by Nora Roberts. It’s the second in The Bride Quartet and focuses on Emma, florist extraordinaire for Vows, the wedding planning company she owns with her three friends, upon whom the series is based. I was hopeful in the first book, Visions in White, of who Emma would end up with, and I don’t think I’ll be disappointed, and if these characters are as real and vibrant as in her previous books, it will be an entertaining read.

Now, I have to admit, I’m brimming with jealousy that one of my friends is reading Fired Up by Jayne Ann Krentz. It’s a contemporary Arcane Society novel (she also writes historical Arcane Society novels under Amanda Quick), but it’s the first in a new series, the Dreamlight Trilogy. Krentz takes a break from the Jones family (as prolific as they are) to focus on Jack Winters, descendant of Nicholas Winters, a man who ended up cursing his family in his competition with Arcane Society founder, Sylvester Jones. Jack has to find a way to break the curse and turns to Chloe Harper, a P.I. with a talent for finding things. Krentz always writes exciting, suspenseful novels, and I’m sure this will be no different.

If you have any suggestions for what I should add to my hold list, let me know!

-Heather Botelho, South Branch Library

Leave a Reply

