Guess Again

guess againAs a children’s librarian, I’ve seen my share of silly and irreverent picture books.  Two of my personal favorites are My Little Sister Ate One Hare and Chicken Cheeks, but neither of these books made me laugh as hard as Mac Barnett’s Guess Again.  Guess Again begins innocently enough with a sweet “Who am I?” poem.  Alongside the rhyme is a garden scene with a darkened silhouette that is obviously a bunny rabbit…or is it? 

Each two-page spread alternates between poetic riddles and the riddles’ answers, which become more inane and absurd as the book progresses.  Adam Rex’s artwork is top-notch (as always!) and complements the text perfectly.  Guess Again’s only drawback is its short length,  so I hope this brevity left the authors with enough material to produce a sequel.

                                                   -Dana Zakrzewski

Leave a Reply

