Slam

Slam is narrated by Sam, a sixteen year-old skater who accidentally impregnates his girlfriend and finds solace (most of the time) by talking to his Tony Hawk poster.  I love Nick Hornby, so, needless to say, I liked Slam.  It’s no High Fidelity or About a Boy, but it’s still high quality dude-lit (my own phrase for the male version of chick-lit, although the New York Times labels Hornby’s genre “male confessional”).  I recommend this one to Nick Hornby fans of every age and to teens.  As an added bonus for myself, Slam references my number one favorite musical artist of all time, Rufus Wainright.
-Dana

Leave a Reply

