Gregor the Overlander

gregor-the-overlander.jpgGregor the Overlander is a wonderful teen fiction book that was written by Suzanne Collins. It is mainly set in an underground world called (as you would guess) the Underland. When a twelve year old boy named Gregor falls down from New York City with his ever enthusiastic baby sister, Boots, he finds that there is more to his life than he could ever imagine. He is the prophesized “Warrior” who will bring the dark underworld into safety. This book is chock full of fun surprises, daring adventures and hilarious comic relief.  If you’re looking for a good book to read then this is the one. It is followed by four other books in the series, Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane, Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods, Gregor and the Marks of Secret, and Gregor and the Code of Claw. All of these books are great books to read aloud, and are fairly easy to read in general. So next time you’re in the library grab Gregor the Overlander off the shelf and you won’t be sorry!

by Emily D. Ray


One thought on “Gregor the Overlander

  1. I love this series and have not been disappointed by any of these books. They are very easy to read, but the material does become more frightening, sad and violent by the fifth book (the Code of Claw) – which is why it is in the Teen Fiction section and not in the Junior Fiction section like the rest of the series.
    My favorite characters are the cockroaches, Ripred and the neighbor woman who helps out the family and keeps sending Ripred macaroni and cheese.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s