Posts Tagged databases

North Branch opens CLIC to Jobseekers!

job search

Today’s job search can be difficult for people unfamiliar with common online requirements like email responses, electronic applications and résumé submissions. The Denton Public Library and Workforce Solutions of North Central Texas are joining forces to offer help for jobseekers in need of free computer time and technology assistance.

Starting in July, the North Branch Library, located at 3020 N. Locust, will open the CLIC (Computer Learning and Instruction Center) on the first and third Mondays of each month from 6:30-8:00 p.m. for jobseekers. Trained library staff will be on hand to assist applicants in opening email accounts, searching and applying for job openings and creating résumés. The Denton Public Library also has several free electronic resources designed to help with the job seeking process, including résumé builders and skill assessments.

The schedule for July and August is Monday evenings from 6:30-8:00 p.m., July 7, July 21, Aug 4, and Aug 18. This service is offered at no cost and is open to the public.

For more information, please call Terri Sharp at 940.349.8776, or e-mail terri.sharp@cityofdenton.com

Add comment June 25, 2009

Want to know who was born on your birthday?

Check out the Denton Public Library’s electronic resource:  “Biography Reference Bank”

Biography Reference Bank contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.  In addition to the full text biographies, Biography Reference Bank contains millions of magazine citations (many of which contain full-text). 

The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images.

Add comment October 31, 2007


Feeds

DPL Pics

Zooniversity

More Photos

DPL on Twitter

Tags

Add new tag adult program author bluebonnet nominees books children's_books communism cowboys creative writing databases Denton Denton history Denton Reads drawing DVD dvds emberley film football graphic novels halloween holds hollywood jonathan_allen kids library mccarthyism Movie Movies music new new releases Paddington Bear picture books Romance Fiction Romance in the Stacks Seniors storytime Summer Reading Club teen teens texas_stadium texting veterans ya

Archives

Recent Comments

dentonpl on About
Joshua on About
dentonpl on It’s more than just a…
Craig on It’s more than just a…
Sing Language on Conversational American Sign L…

Categories

 

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blogroll

books

community

government

schools

About

Meta